RSS Feed

Gunwaif – Playgue

https://i2.wp.com/f0.bcbits.com/img/a0181480383_2.jpg

I honestly couldn’t tell you why I like the things I like. I spent all day today traversing through talented bands with well written songs which did absolutely fuck all to interest me. Then along comes, a dark, squelchy, indescribable lump of glitch pop and suddenly i’m all ears – being different really does pay off.

I don’t know who (or what or where or how or why) Gunwaif is but it certainly caught my ear. With a deranged take on the female lead synth-pop that Grimes and Purity Ring saw great success with last year, Gunwaif makes a song that truly sounds like the machines have taken over; The synths manipulate their human host through 3 minites of twisted, jerky bedroom-pop that sounds like a post-dubstep take on Crystal Castles. It’s a sound that manages to be completely alien yet wholly addictive; I for one welcome our new Synth Overlords.

Anyone know anymore about this project? Comment!

Will

One response »

  1. Pingback: Aphir | CATFROMJAPAN

Leave a Reply

