RSS Feed

Temple Songs/Whistlejacket/Parlour – 10/10/13

I was tempted to title this article ‘My First Gig Review’ so that I might be forgiven for the literary nightmare i’m about to commit to page but ultimately I decided having an article that sounds like it would be sold in the kid’s section of Waterstones, complete with crudely drawn sketches of me getting pissed wouldn’t be helping anyone.

I don’t know what I’m doing right now though. I mean, am I supposed to give you some background about the run up to the gig? Do I talk about the day leading up to it? Do you need to know about my upbringing and how that might have affected my enjoyment of the gig? I will say that it involved beer and curry (the day leading up to the gig that is, not so much my upbringing).

Errrm…Right that’s about as long as I can spend putting off talking about the music…

First up with Parlour who, whilst being an undeniably tight act, weren’t really my cup of tea. Their particular wall of sound was expansive to the point where it neared post-rock levels of grandeur. It was cinematic in it’s levels of sonic magnificence and was doused throughout in a certain element of angelic beauty by the harmonising lead vocals provided by the two female vocalists and did make for a great sound, I just wasn’t really engaged by the songs. Probably a personal taste thing more than anything else.

Whistlejacket were next who kinda sounded like DIIV but with the apocalyptic intensity of their own personal brand of jangle rammed all the way up. It was a set that was endlessly melodic and I think the bassist was wearing a 2-pac tee shirt which says more about this band than I ever could (it doesn’t really but I can’t think of anything else to write)

Stars of the show Temple Songs came charging out of the blocks, propelled by their relentlessly energetic drummer, a man who was recently voted ‘most likely to self-sustain whiplash’ (by me, at the gig). Live, the more fragile jangle of the recordings is really given a kick up the ass with muddier guitar tones and more aggressive vocals. It also bodes well for Temple Songs that some of my favorite songs of the set weren’t event ones I knew, showing that there is still plenty of good tunes left in them and they haven’t blown their creative load too soon. It was one of the purest guitar band sets i’ve seen in a while and reminded me that as much as I ramble on about hiphop being so great, seeing a great band can still feel as fresh and exciting as it ever did.

Will

One response »

  1. Pingback: Whistlejacket – Melt | CATFROMJAPAN

Leave a Reply

