DIE MASON DIE

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/335974_388745687845664_1168192671_o.jpg

I probably wouldn’t be writing about this band if they didn’t look so damn cool because it floats on the folkier side of the musical spectrum, a place where I rarely tread. But look at their beards, how could I not write about them.

My main beef with a lot of this sort of music is that it’s so aggressively grandiose  that it doesn’t really leave much room for emotion and tends to just beat me round the face with how twee it all is. Die Mason Die however, give a nod to the darker side of things and weave a much more intimate sound which manages to create a really detailed soundscape with a host of glitchy, trembling instrumental nuances giving the track a creepy undercurrent. To be honest the word folk is a pretty poor description; these guys are folk in the way Daughter is folk which is essentially not at all. Anyway this is very contemporary, beardy music and I like it.

Is this folk? Are you folk? Comment!

Will

Leave a comment